Triumph Torque Logo

Monday, 25 March 2019 Register | Login

Message Board

NextRSSPreviousSocial Forums > The Hinckley Arms > Recession, coming you way...
Info
Swinetown, Wiltshire,
United Kingdom

Enthusiast

icon15 Jan 2019 15:28
Anyone else get the feeling that we have another recession heading our way?.

Our economy feels like it is being driven by a housing boom with lots of new estates going up all over the place in Wiltshire & Oxfordshire with ever increasing prices and deposits required.

I work in retail and any business that sells its products through a shop is going through a rough time, this will only worsen as the year goes on and the online retailers, particularly Amazon, are allowed to trade with no guidelines from the government to protect city centres.
-
Advertisement
Remove adverts by upgrading to a premier account
-
onlinenorbsa2
Kent,
United Kingdom

Daytona 1200

icon15 Jan 2019 15:50
In Kent there seem to be intent on getting rid of every bit of grass etc by building loads of housing estates with sky high prices.
-
Freck
Preston, Lancs,
United Kingdom

Daytona 955i (99-01)

icon15 Jan 2019 17:22
1200 new houses being built in our village with no new amenities.
We’ve lost the post office, hardware store and newsagent over the past few years too. It’ll be ok though, we’ve now got 2 hand car wash places. :speechless:
-
jaguartvr
Englefield Green,
United Kingdom

Enthusiast

icon15 Jan 2019 17:51
We have a bigger population so need more housing.
Councils need to provide plenty of free or very cheap parking to encourage people to use the High Street, they won't so they are doomed. When the councils lose the High Street cash cows they will be looking to tax something else to make up the shortfall and cut bin collections to every 3 months.
-
-Rob NMTB -
Worcestershire,
United Kingdom

Enthusiast

icon15 Jan 2019 18:25
tbh, I use the internet to buy stuff a lot.