Triumph Torque Logo

Wednesday, 19 December 2018 Register | Login

Message Board

NextRSSPreviousTech Forums > Performance Tips & Tricks > Air Box Mod-again!
Info
sevenoaks,kent,
United Kingdom

Enthusiast

icon31 Jan 2002 19:57
Hi guys,I'm fairly new to the the site but reckon it's exellent!I have a '99 black 955i.
Anyway point is,this airbox mod I'm very interested in all the opinions it certainly has generated it's share,however I thought before I take the plunge I'll speak to some "experts" so I spoke to the guy's at Jack Lilley's workshop.Well they agreed entirely with the people at John Wilcox and said basically it's b------t and what you actually what to do is close the drainholes up and extend the air duct hoses into the airbox,to create a pressurized airbox!They also suggested that anyone who reckons the holes theory creates more midrange power is being tricked by the extra induction noise and it's all in the mind!!
so there you are yet another opinion.
-
Advertisement
Remove adverts by upgrading to a premier account
-
martin brown
birmingham,
United Kingdom

Speed Triple 955i (99-01)

icon31 Jan 2002 20:22
you could always try to get in touch with someone who has the modded air box,and who lives near to you,and try it for yourself,you may be suprised,just a thought!!
-
Bruce Brown
Pittsboro, NC,
USA

Daytona 955i (02)

icon01 Feb 2002 14:33
Leave the airbox alone unless you going to use a dyno for before and after testing.