Triumph Torque Logo
 
Friday, 22 February 2019 Register | Login

Message Board

NextRSSPreviousTech Forums > EFI & Tunes/Mappings > Tuning With Air Injection ?
Info
.
Message
Ole
Long Beach, Cali,
USA

Posts: 146
Speed Triple 955i (02-04)


icon17 Dec 2003 16:29
My buddy has an RC51, and a tuner informed him that to
get a proper tune, you must disable the secondary air injection,
otherwise you will be getting an overly lean reading of AFR (since
you are injecting inlet air directly into the exhaust ports).

Seems to make sense.... is the same true for our bikes ?

Has anyone done tuning on a bike with air injection ?

How do I disable and remove the 2ndary air injection
(disconnect it and add block off plates over the inlets to the
exhaust ports ???? )

Any and all inputs related to this subject would be greatly appreciated !

-
Advertisement
Remove adverts by upgrading to a premier account
-
Cerberus
Connecticut,
USA

Posts: 5,164
Enthusiast


icon18 Dec 2003 03:45
i would just unplug the secondary air injection control valve electrical connector so it can't open.
This assumes it is only open when powered and not vice versa.
i agree about disabling for tuning purposes though.
-
Wayne Macdonald
Sydney,
Australia

Posts: 493
Daytona T595


icon19 Dec 2003 22:43
Secondary air injection will make the mixture look lean on the dyno O2 sensor.
It must be disconnected if you plan to use the Dyno O2 sensor to tune.
To disable the secondary air I would block the hoses off where they go into the cam cover.
Once you have done that you can load the non-air tune so that the ECU does not think it is using it.
Don't just load the non-air tune because I have been told that this will result in the air injection staying open all the time.
-
Ole
Long Beach, Cali,
USA

Posts: 146
Speed Triple 955i (02-04)


icon21 Dec 2003 14:46
Thanks Wayne !

Thanks again for all the help Wayne !!!
(I had a blast taking my bike down to the dyno, following
your directions, and simply tweaking the tables to adjust
my AFR to 12.7-13, even though I did it with the 2AI connected,
I got some really good power gains and really learned the
tuning process)

I already took it to the dyno and tuned it WITHOUT disconnecting
the 2AI. I started with the 10131 tune which was showing (with the 2AI
still connected) an AFR of 14-15:1 for 4-9.5K RPM at 100% Throttle
Position, 13.5-14:1 for 25% TP, and 13.5-14.5:1 for 50% TP.

After doing two steps of tuning for AFR at 25%, 50%, and 100% TP,
I got the AFR down to 12.7-13:1 for all TPs.
At 25% I got 4-8 HP over 4-9.5K RPM.
At 50% I got 2-5 HP over 4-5K RPM and 5-10 HP over 5-9.5K RPM.
At 100% I got only 2-3 HP and 3-5 Ft-Lbs over 3-6K RPM (with no
increase up top) .....
Again, all of these numbers were achieved with the 2AI still connected.

Doh ! I wish I'd thought about the 2AI before doing this tuning !

Sooooo,
1) Do you think I should start over with the 10130 tune ?
( with the 2AI disabled or blocked off)
2) Or should I just shut off (or block off) the 2AI and tweak
the tune I already have ?
3) Disconnecting the wire to the 2AI will not shut it off, so I
must block it off to disable it ?
(create block off plates using gasket material and/or aluminum).
4) When does the 2AI "turn on" ?

From my results I'm guessing that the 2AI mainly works at 100% TP ?
Does the 2AI give more or less HP & TQ than the non-2AI motor ?

Thank you Wayne (and all) !!!



-
Capt. Kirk
leftcoast,
USA

Posts: 2,936
Enthusiast


icon21 Dec 2003 19:09
Ole,
where are you using a dyno with tuneboy? Whats the owner think of it?
-
Ole
Long Beach, Cali,
USA

Posts: 146
Speed Triple 955i (02-04)


icon22 Jan 2004 17:20
R-Cal Racing in Huntington Beach.

Basically all they did was do dyno runs for me.

I explained to them what I wanted to do before going in, and then
made sure that they understood what I wanted to do when I got there.

They did a run, I backed the bike out of the shop, tweaked my tune, plugged in my computer/tuneboy, downloaded it, and repeated ...
I looked at the percentage lean (or rich) that I was at 25/50/100 % TP (three runs), and then I adjusted a tune to get it "on".
We did another dyno run (all three TPs), and I tweaked it again, and then did it one more time.
-
Capt. Kirk
leftcoast,
USA

Posts: 2,936
Enthusiast


icon23 Jan 2004 04:06
Ole,
If you decide to go at it again (blocking the hoses) I'd really like to watch if you don't mind having someone looking over your shoulder. Mind if I ask how much they charged you?
I like all the features mentioned about tuneboy but I can't help thinking I'd use it once and that would be it. Trying to find out how much that one custom tune will cost me.
-
bibi's ST04
Hainaut,
Belgium

Posts: 75
Sprint ST (02-04)


icon05 May 2004 14:08
From Wayne:

Don't just load the non-air tune because I have been told that this will result in the air injection staying open all the time.


Please can you confirm this ?

and if it's true HOW can I definively close it without having the " service warning light" always on? ( If I disconnect the electrical plug of this air injection, ECM dont' like that !)

-
Wayne Macdonald
Sydney,
Australia

Posts: 493
Daytona T595


icon05 May 2004 23:35
Put something inside the pipe to stop any air flow.
-
Mike D
Western Washington,
USA

Posts: 183
Daytona 955i (02CE, 03)


icon06 May 2004 17:03
So, I'm still a bit confused on the actual process and after-tune configuration. Is the following correct for a 2AI bike?

1) Disconnect and/or plug air injection ports
2) Load non air injection tune into bike
3) Dyno tune bike and modify tune
4) Reconnect air injection ports?

Basically, what happens to the air injection stuff after the tuning is finished? You can't load the 'old' air injection tune becuase that will lose all your tuning data from step 3.

Thanks,

M
-
Wayne Macdonald
Sydney,
Australia

Posts: 493
Daytona T595


icon06 May 2004 22:52
No, Don't run a 2AI bike with a non 2AI tune unless you plug the holes.
If you plan to dyno then plug the holes (for the o2 to work correctly) but tune with the 2AI tune
-
Mike D
Western Washington,
USA

Posts: 183
Daytona 955i (02CE, 03)


icon07 May 2004 04:34
Got it. Thanks again Wayne!
-
NewmanRS
Halikko,
Finland

Posts: 48
Daytona 955i (04-06)


icon18 May 2004 10:04
Probably a stupid question, but where are those 2AI hoses located and
how many of them there are to be plugged?
-
Ole
Long Beach, Cali,
USA

Posts: 146
Speed Triple 955i (02-04)


icon20 May 2004 22:50
Uploaded Info


I've uploaded pics of my final dyno runs.
And I've uploaded the associated tune into the tunes ....

Any comments and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I can't wait to plug my 2AI ports and re-run it ....


-
Cerberus
Connecticut,
USA

Posts: 5,164
Enthusiast


icon21 May 2004 04:08
Holy lean spike batman!
That 3000 rpm lean spike looks bad. Nice improvement in torque in the 3k rpm range after the fact.. like 8ft/lbs it looks like. thats better than a 10% boost! nice!
I would see about trying to flatten the spike out once you plug the ports so you are getting a true sampling.
-
Ole
Long Beach, Cali,
USA

Posts: 146
Speed Triple 955i (02-04)


icon24 May 2004 20:27
From what I've been told, the lean spike below 3K rpm isn't "real" .... (innacurate readings at low RPMs)

-
NextRSSPreviousTech Forums > EFI & Tunes/Mappings > Tuning With Air Injection ?
-
Forum Jump:
-
Moderators: ~Bluelabel~ Boycie Homertrix
Who's Online?
Guests:74
Members:5
Premiers:0

top
Triumph Torque
- About Us
- Community Guidelines
- Contact Us
- Statistics
Site Information
- Site Help
- Site Status
- Site Updates
Member Information
- Login / Register
- Merchandise
- Obituaries